New gTLD Program Update for Applicants

Webinar on the Initial Evaluation of New gTLD Applications

The initial evaluation phase of the new generic top-level domain program began on 12 July 2012, and evaluation panels are now processing applications using the criteria in the Applicant Guidebook.

Throughout the evaluation process, ICANN will provide regular updates to applicants. One method we plan to use is monthly webinar sessions.

This first session will be set for 90 minutes with an opportunity for questions and answers. The sessions will provide updates on evaluation progress, program developments, and other topics of interest to new gTLD applicants. The sessions will be open but opportunity for questions will be reserved for applicants.

The first webinar will provide:

  • Information and updates on the various elements of the evaluation process
  • Early evaluation indications and implications for applicants
  • Discussion of the "batching" issue and its impact on the timing of delegations.

We hope you can join us for this session but if you can't, you'll find a recording of the webinar in the Announcements & Media section of the new gTLD microsite.

Applicant Webinar: Start of New gTLD Initial Evaluation
Date: 9 August 2012
Time: 12:00 – 13:30 UTC (5:00 – 6:30am PST)
RSVP: If you would like to participate, please reserve a place by emailing newgtldcommunications@icann.org by 00:00 UTC on Wednesday, 8 August 2012 (5:00pm PST, Tuesday, 7 August 2012). We will send you an e-mail reminder before the event with log-in details.

Please note that space is limited for this live webinar. Priority will be given to applicants on a first come, first served basis. If you are an applicant, we strongly encourage you to send your RSVP as soon as possible from the primary contact's email address.